Contact Us

Alison Hey-Cunningham +61 2 9515 6651    


Centre of Research Excellence in Pulmonary Fibrosis
Respiratory Medicine and Sleep Unit
Level 11, Royal Prince Alfred Hospital
Camperdown NSW 2050



Online Enquiry

* Required fields

CREATE Vision and Goals

The NHMRC Centre of Research Excellence in Pulmonary Fibrosis is dedicated to building research capacity in the area of Pulmonary Fibrosis research, and CREATE (CRE-Advanced Training Environment) represents a unique opportunity for students and clinicians interested in pursuing research in this field. In particular, our focus is on providing high quality supervision to postgraduate research students undertaking PhD degrees and training to post-doctoral researchers.

You can download the CREATE Program Guide here.

CREATE Fellows

Some of our CREATE Fellows: Dr Alan Teoh, Dr Helen Jo, Mr David Waters, Mr Kaj Blokland, Dr Yet Khor and Dr Jade Jaffar.


Our vision is to train CREATE fellows who can enter the workforce skilled up and capable of developing and translating knowledge from bench-to-bedside with the outcome of improving cardiopulmonary health status of the Australian population.


  1. Enhance clinical and basic science research training to produce the next generation of outstanding respiratory scientists using formalized mentoring and training environments.
  2. Enhance the training relevance to career progression through the use of novel curriculum elements including ethics and professional skills such as grant & manuscript writing.
  3. Focus on the translational pathway from basic biomedical discoveries to clinical research and to clinical practice. We will add innovative curriculum content to teach effective translation to colleagues, students, decision makers, and the public. We propose to include practical collaborative exposure to commercialization pathways for translating discoveries from bench-to-bedside.

If you are interested in undertaking training with us, please contact Kate Christian for more information. We also invite you to view the profiles under "Our People" to find a mentor or read more about the current research and projects happening in our research streams.